GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a used wing with Traxxion and just rebuilt the forks with new bushings and seals. Both sides the bottom bolt is weeping a very small amount of fluid. I have done this job 6 times before on stock wings with out a problem. This is my first time with Traxxion. Everything went fine except the leaking. Bolts came out easy and went back in just fine. Even used new crush washers. On the stock forks one uses a longer bolt the other fork a shorter bolt. The Traxxion used long ones on both side so I had one new one and I used the old one in the other side. Did not use locktite. Tightened firmly by holding the head of the ratchet. Traxxion's directions says to not use torque wrench as they can be overtightened. Read directions before and after and am not finding the answer. I'm missing something, any ideas?

·
Banned
11,396 Posts
When I loosen or tighten there lower bolts I use this method and never have any issue with them coming off or tightening them the next time I service the same forks. No leaks either.

I have this tool,easily made of you can't find one at a tool shack etc.

I use a 3/8 ratchet and give the end of it's handle a good whack with a ball peen hammer to "shock" the nut loose/tight and never have had any issue yet.

If you try my method,all you should have to do it pull the axle/wheel off to expose the allen head bolts.The forks don't need to be removed for this.Seeing you used new crush washers.

Brand of shocks/innards don't matter in this case.

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Rocky do think that I just didn't tighten the bolts enough? I may of been concerned about over tightening. Here are the directions from Traxxion.

Install cartridge in right leg and tighten bolt BY HAND, USING NO LOCTITE, until it
stops, and will not rotate any further using a hand ratchet. This will be obvious. DO