GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To keep this on topic Judy took me on a three hour New Years Day ride. A little chilly but invigorating. She is very pleased with the Traxxion setup.

Now my question/problem. I have been using Trend Micro PC-Cillin. It asks to download new updates daily - small pain for the benefits. Lately it has been asking to download new components almost every ten minutes. Haven't looked into why as I am up for renewal this month. Just might switch to AVG. Anybody have any thoughts on (pro or con) switching?

Thanks

·
Registered
597 Posts
I don't now about PC-Cillin, but I have been using AVG for a few months and have had not trouble (and no viruses). It does update everyday, but that is reassuring me that they are on-the-ball.

Joe

·
Registered
23 Posts
jomamma1 said:
I don't now about PC-Cillin, but I have been using AVG for a few months and have had not trouble (and no viruses). It does update everyday, but that is reassuring me that they are on-the-ball.

Joe
+1 for AVG

I've been using it for several years - zero problems!

Also, Kim Komando recommends it!
http://www.komando.com/downloads/category.aspx?id=2519

·
Registered
137 Posts
Maybe a firewall issue...

Trend Micro will update daily... and sometimes twice a day. The only time I'm aware of repeated multiple update attempts was when the firewall settings were changed and the updates were unintentionally blocked... You might check your firewall settings...

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
Have been using Trend for a couple of years, no virus problem to date. But like you I am getting update notices, etc to the point of distraction. I am waiting for the subscription to expire next month, then switching to the AVG.

Have it on the other computer, and it works as well, without the constant nagging.

·
Registered
4,660 Posts