GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

Turn Signals on 2002 GW1800 won't work! The fuse and relay are OK, plus the emergency flashers will work. Where do I need to be looking?

Donnie

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
I am no expert but I would look at the switch.. maybe some contact cleaner first .. then the switch / wires etc.

Clarksdale, MS .... I spent a life time down there .. well less than 3 years but it felt like a lifetime.... :eek:4: :nojoke: :joke::joke::joke:

·
Registered
1,630 Posts
I had same problem with my 02. 4 ways worked but signals and I believe brake light did not. It was a 2 wire plug behind the meter panel that had not been fully locked during assembly. Had to remove windshield to gain access. It was very visible.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I had same problem with my 02. 4 ways worked but signals and I believe brake light did not. It was a 2 wire plug behind the meter panel that had not been fully locked during assembly. Had to remove windshield to gain access. It was very visible.

The brake light works! I may still check out that plug.

Donnie

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

I think there is a relay in the area you are talking about. Is that the one you are talking about on the Turn Signal Problem? Thanks!

Donnie

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
You didn't say if it was running or not...Is the key on? I know it is elementary but you never know. And the E-Flashers will work with the key off.

I did it the other day: I started my car with the remote start....15 minutes later I jumped in and flipped on the wipers since it was snowing...they didn't work. I played with the switch, checked the fuse box, checked the connector in the wiper...all good!

Duh!!! I forgot to put the key in the ignition and turn it to the "Run" position.

·
Registered
1,630 Posts
The 4 way flashers will only work if the key is on accy or on.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #10