GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm sure others have figured this out but just in case; if you want to use Apple CarPlay without having a Bluetooth helmet there is a $5 way to get around it.

The 5 Below stores sell a Bluetooth adapter (to use with a wired headset). Its a little puck you can just toss in your storage, tricks the bike into thinking you have a headset installed (you technically do) and will enable the use of CarPlay. You could also just velcro it somewhere since the microphone on it will work for Siri input.

I personally use an old Sony Bluetooth adapter on mine when I don't feel like taking my BT helmet.

Also... I hate CarPlay... Why oh why do we not have Android Auto supported yet! I picked up a used iPhone for long touring trips since it still beats using Honda's Infotainment System (Honda, I'm a UX designer by trade, I will design a better UI for you for free if you just use it lol).

Anyway, hope this rant helps. Sorry if this is a dupe post.

·
Registered
1,746 Posts
I'm sure others have figured this out but just in case; if you want to use Apple CarPlay without having a Bluetooth helmet there is a $5 way to get around it.

The 5 Below stores sell a Bluetooth adapter (to use with a wired headset). Its a little puck you can just toss in your storage, tricks the bike into thinking you have a headset installed (you technically do) and will enable the use of CarPlay. You could also just velcro it somewhere since the microphone on it will work for Siri input.

I personally use an old Sony Bluetooth adapter on mine when I don't feel like taking my BT helmet.

Also... I hate CarPlay... Why oh why do we not have Android Auto supported yet! I picked up a used iPhone for long touring trips since it still beats using Honda's Infotainment System (Honda, I'm a UX designer by trade, I will design a better UI for you for free if you just use it lol).