GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I started riding about 35 years ago, I always (okay, almost always) wear a helmet (usually modular but sometimes a 3/4 helmet in hot weather). I always were gloves, and always wear good boots to protect my ankles. And MOST of the time I have worn a jacket. Truthfully, since I bought my Goldwing three and a half years ago, riding in hot weather had often had me stuff the mesh jacket I had into one of the saddle bags. Even with Baker Wings set to divert as much air on to my body as possible, and with the vent in the windscreen open, I found I was just too hot to handle any jacket. But last year I bought a Klim Induction jacket and for the first time have a jacket that allows enough airflow to wear on even the hottest days, yet provides armor protection. So all of this left me with the final area that I have been neglecting all of my riding life, my legs. I had tried various riding pants and found that with a generous waist size, and short legs, nothing I had found would work for me. Knee armor ended up below my shins, pants length was way too long, and it all was too much of a hassle to put up with. So although I have been pretty good about wearing protective clothing, my legs have been covered just by jeans, whether regular or "riding" jeans.

This year I decided to try chaps, something that in the past I have felt just looked too silly. I ordered a pair of leather chaps to wear over my jeans. No armor, but certainly better abrasion protection than wearing just denim. I fully expect to get funny comments from other Goldwing riders, asking if I had meant to ride the Harley that day or something. Now I am looking forward to trying them out once riding is again possible around here and I'll report back on how the chaps are working out, or if the hassle of wearing them ends up with me going back to just jeans.

·
Registered
594 Posts