GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, newbie here. I have been lurking here for a few weeks...waiting to join you folks with Goldwings. Today is the day! (sorta). I've been studying this site (which I really like, by the way), the GWRRA site, and E-bay looking for something that caught my eye. Well,this afternoon I purchased a 5,000 mile Bright Red '04 ABS model with C.B., spoiler & driving lights from a dealership about 75 miles east of here (Bucyrus, Ohio). Wasn't too sure about the color until I actually saw it. WOW. I have to wait until Monday night to go pick it up as the battery was dead, and me being a last minute shopper apparently didn't leave them enough time to charge/replace it. :cry: I'll get to bring it home just in time to store it for winter!

·
Registered
373 Posts
Congrats John. Welcome to the ranks. You'll find this is a great site ran by great folks. Wealth of information here. Enjoy! :D

400th post!!!!!!!!!!

Scott

·
Registered
4,246 Posts
First, Welcome!

A fully discharged battery MIGHT recover, but there are no guarantees. I recommend you get a 'Battery Tender Plus', or similar device to keep on your battery during down-time. Also, a regular 'Battery Tender' would suffice also, but the Wing definitely needs something to maintain the battery because things like the receiver for the remote, and radio presets, for example, are always on, unlike many other bikes.

Best Wishes to you and Enjoy your new ride!

·
Registered
2,405 Posts
Welcome, A word of caution! Test ride it before you ink the deal!!!

Enjoy

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
Welcome John and congrats on the new ride. Hope you have a little warm weather to ride it a little before winter sets in. Congrats too OSU just won.
Wow, whatta game.

·
Registered
272 Posts
John congrats, next week it's supose to be 60+ for a couple days here in Indy. Should be nice for a ride Thurs. and Fri.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #9