GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy,

I'm trying to figure out why (at times) when I shift from first to second, the tranny shifts hard, like I'm forcing it. It does not happen all the time. I figure it's "me" and the way I'm shifting, but I can't figure out just what I'm doing wrong. It can happen when I'm pulling hard on the RPMs or short shifting...

I'm already using syn oil.

I've been riding for 30 years and some how I've picked up a bad habit...

Any tips on changing my technique?

John

·
Registered
393 Posts
John Flovin said:
Howdy,

I'm trying to figure out why (at times) when I shift from first to second, the tranny shifts hard, like I'm forcing it. It does not happen all the time. I figure it's "me" and the way I'm shifting, but I can't figure out just what I'm doing wrong. It can happen when I'm pulling hard on the RPMs or short shifting...

Any tips on changing my technique?

John
Switch to synthetic oil!
Glen

·
Registered
2,541 Posts
Sorry if you are already doing this but back to basics. Are you backing off the throttle momentarily during the shift?

If you can't figure it out ride it over to my house so I can take it for a ride and let you know if its normal. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

·
Registered
7,040 Posts
Maybe a short Clutch, pull the lever all the way. Adjust clutch throw maybe or adjust your technik.

·
Registered
2,070 Posts