GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 111 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding motorcycles for well over 40 years now, and have ridden all kinds of bikes and all brands, both on road and off. Did a stint on sport bikes for years and loved it, standards have graced my garage, and cruisers filled the need for air through the hair after I moved to the high deserts of New Mexico. My wife has always been my riding partner and has loved riding on almost everything that I have owned. I love my wife because she does not complain about a cramped passenger seat, sore bum, or turbulence. The only time she ever expressed a desire to not ride on a bike was when I had a KTM 990 Adventure and we had a front tire blow out at 70 mph. I didn't drop the bike, thanks to my dirt bike riding experience, but it definately scared her to the point where she feared the bike. So I gladly got rid of the KTM because I wanted her to be with me on my bike.

Recently I decided that it was time to get something that my wife would be super comfortable on. I decided that it was time to put her before me when it came to a bike purchase. I had always heard that the GL1800 was the most comfortable mount for a passenger, and the rider was pampered too.

My response to Goldwing ownership had always been "I'll never be old enough for a Goldwing." I stood behind that for years, but decided that this was not about me, but about the wife, so I searched and found a well taken care of pre-owned 03 GL1800.

Of course the wife loves the comfort. I find the engine to be impressive, the suspension capable, and the fit and finish to be quality. But, unfortunately I have to say......this bike has no soul. It is boring to me as the pilot, unchallenging, and has no character. Of course that is my opinion alone, not a characterization of the GL1800, only the way I feel about it.