GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2,801 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what others think is the best or most comfortable part of a lane to ride in, and why.

When I'm by myself I ride all over the lane using the whole thing.
But say its a 4 lane and I go to pass someone I try. Pull over to the left lane and stay close to the right so the car or truck can see me in the rear view.
If its a Big rig I do the same till I get up next to the rear of the trailer and then move left a little and pour on the coals so as not to be next to them any longer than I have too. As a Trucker I know they appreciate this.
It use to be said riding in the middle of the lane was Bad because that's where all the oil is. I noticed that this doesn't seem to be as big a problem these day. Better sealed engines don't seem to leave that slick stripe down the middle anymore.

If I'm leading a Group. I tend to chose the Right side of the lane. Don't really know why, I just do. I guess it has to do with being where I want when We go to pass others.

·
Registered
24,624 Posts
To the right or the left (not the center), depending on which side gives me the best/longest view of the road ahead.

·
Registered
396 Posts
I still try to stay out of the center anyway. That's usually where you find road kill. Even if you are following a car at a relatively safe distance, by the time the car in front of you uncovers something dead on the road, there isn't much time to react. If the dead something happens to be in the tire path of a 4 wheel vehicle, it's usually flattened pretty good and no big deal if you run it over.

·
Registered
277 Posts
I use the entire lane for several reasons.
When riding in moderate traffic conditions, I like to adjust so I keep an eye on the left outside mirror. I figure that's the easiest mirror to keep an eye on the driver (ideally).