GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After looking at some of the rides with videos, think its time to get a camcorder and go for a ride. Those that have experience with camcorders, what is your recommendation? I am a complete beginner when it comes to these things. What should I look for? Type of memory? Size? Batteries? Mounts for bikes?

Thanks.

·
Registered
9,117 Posts
jake4440 said:
dont bother!!! :D
Now there is a good answer...GEEZ!

Go to Best Buy or Circuit City and pick a camera that you like. I would stick with either DVD or Digital Video, depending on how much you want to spend. Of course you can buy MUCH better, but keep in mind the size.

For the mount, get a RAM mount. Very easy to install. Mounts to your handlebar on either the clutch or brake reservoir bracket. This is the simplest and least expensive.

If you want to go all out, check out, check out Helmetcamera.com or Viosport.com. That will give you some ideas. Mount the camera to your bike or helmet.

You can also read Fred's review on the Helmet Camera setup. This will give you some good information.

http://www.angelridevideos.com/reviews/helmetcam.html

Bartman

·
Registered
4,179 Posts
we've looked into getting a small camcorder to carry on the bike so Gwyn can take shots while we cruise along. One feature that I suggest is the is the motion one (forgot its technical name) where it smooths out the video. I don't think I'd want one mounted to the bike, but that's just me.

·
Registered
4,027 Posts
Go to Fred H.'s website, I think he bought a helmet Cam. he may even have a review of the thing.

Gezz I can't think of it right off hand. But send Fred H. a PM ( private message) and ask him what he thinks of his cam-corder

·
Registered
300 Posts
all good answers but mine
twyn is refering to image stabilization or is for short