GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Did a 348 mile leisurely ride today and did something I have never done before.....ran out of gas. I got out in the middle of nowhere thinking that the next town would have gas. WRONG!!! :shock: Slowed down to 50mph and start to chew on my diamond seat with my butt. :x After many minutes of terror I found a town (for you Texas guys, Jewett, TX) with gas. About 200 yards from the pump I ran out of gas but was able to coast into the driveway of the station. Big Red stop 15 feet short of the pump and I had to push her the rest of the way. I can assure you I will never get caught like that again. :oops: I've ridden in West Texas many times where gas stations are far and few inbetween and I always pull in early to fill-up. I should have listened to myself. Oh Well!!!

Now for how much fuel I put into Big Red.....6.793 gals.

Never been sooooo happy to see a gas station.

GOW

·
I U Turn
888 Posts
6.3 is the most I've ever put in
**** :D

·
Registered
2,183 Posts
I haven't run it that low. I've put in around 5.1 but that was the most.
I just wish I got 51+ miles per gallon on mine !!!!!
I don't want to run out of gas, but that kind of milage woud be good
On trips I get around 42 to 43

·
Registered
5,528 Posts
I like yourself almost ran out of gas coming into Ill. from Missouri two years ago on my way home from Texas. When I finally got to a gas station it took 6.59 gallon to filerup......... Things were getting tight on my seat as well.... I have never been that close again. Everytime I even think about pushing it I remember that day..