GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hate asking questions abut tires, oil, seats etc because if you ask 10 people the same question you end up with 30 personal opinions and they all swear that theirs is the best. I am sure that opinions about windshields are also personal experiences but here goes!:cool:

I have 80K on my 06 and have always found that at higher speeds I have terrible buffeting with so much noise around my head that I have even bought different helmets thinking that would solve the problem. Wrong! I usually use a 3/4 helmet with a full face shield.

I am 5' 10", ride with the shield in the down position as I prefer to look over the windshield so I am not looking for a taller windshield. There are so many brands on the aftermarket from F4 Customs, Firecreek Windbender, Cee Bailey, Slipstreamer, VStream etc so I could use some feedback.

I have been researching for a couple of months and I was all set to go with the VStream but I read on this site from owners that some felt it seemed to benefit the passenger more than the rider. Call me selfish but I only care about the rider (and my girlfriend is only 5' and I make a good wind block)

I have no issues with the visibility of the OEM windshield. Even after 80k miles it has no scratches to speak of.

So if I do not want to go with a taller windshield, can anyone tell me what worked for them. I have tried to search the site but the threads seem to be off target not to mention the amount of postings to try and weed through.

Like most things, now with only 3 weeks before I go x-country, I need to do this now or forget it for a while. The bike is on the lift as I write this, new tires, brake pads, (cleaned the calipers, pucks etc), new clutch and brake fluids, spark plugs, new battery, tire pressure monitoring system and worst of all - a new air cleaner.