GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm curious about the Wing's performance in strong crosswinds with all those fairings. I've been riding my VTX 1800RS for over 3 years here in the high plains of New Mexico. On one occasion I 've ridden in constant 60mph crosswinds with 70mph gusts for almost 4 hours straight. No easy task for a little guy like me (5'9 @ 160lbs) but, i survived. On a more constant basis (every spring for several days) 40-50mph crosswinds are encountered. I ride to & from work almost everyday of the year. Springtime is rough on windspeeds but, i cruise right along. Wonder if i'd be alright on the Wing?

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
Likely not. Sounds like you are in love with the current ride. Thats why most of us that ride wings never take them out of the DQ parking lot in winds of over 5 knots, a forcast of rain, and NEVER more than 15 minutes per ride or over 45 MPH. Those fairings just take all the pleasure out of riding, and all that plastic makes them handle like a slug.

Suggest you do not try one, unless you have about 20 grand burning a hole in your pocket.

·
Registered
2,082 Posts
I live right south of you in Plains, Tx. The Wing is not a whole lot worse to ride in wind than any bike. It is bothersome but you get used to it. It makes up for that negative in lots of other ways.

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
IR Harry said:
Likely not. Sounds like you are in love with the current ride. Thats why most of us that ride wings never take them out of the DQ parking lot in winds of over 5 knots, a forcast of rain, and NEVER more than 15 minutes per ride or over 45 MPH. Those fairings just take all the pleasure out of riding, and all that plastic makes them handle like a slug.

Suggest you do not try one, unless you have about 20 grand burning a hole in your pocket.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Harry, you just think you can be like this
because it's so long till Christmas again.