GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Both the wife and I wear 3/4 helmets. At 60 mph + the wind noise generated in the intercom system is not acceptable. I have played with the "Intercome Mute" and see little difference. Played with the intercom volume and also little difference. Picking up wind noise mostly in cross wind situations, as I have Baker hand deflectors and Laminar Flow windshield foil. I am using the genuine J&M el cheapo head set / microphone (i.e. $120 for both). Other than using a full face or modular (fold up/down) Any suggestions?

·
Vendor
21,563 Posts
You need a set of Mic Mutes. They allow you to shut off the mics when you aren't talking, via the PTT CB switch. I have been using them since 2002, and wouldn't ride without them. They are the single best thing ever made for the GL1800's intercom system.

http://mic-mutes.com/

·
Registered
460 Posts
What Fred said...

I agree with Fred 100%!

Mike Mutes IS the best thing to add to the intercom system! Installation is easy, and once you try it, you won't believe how you ever got along without it!

Best $$$ I ever spent on my Wing.

And I've spent PLENTY!

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Fred & Crate. On my wish list as I plan about 10,000 miles out North West this summer.

·
Registered
1,279 Posts

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
Tryed the wind soc. SO with 3/4 helmet and face shield still loud

·
Registered
3,843 Posts
And if you can get away with it, don't put a passenger PTT back there.:lol::lol:

·
Registered
58 Posts