GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
almost got bike together, having proublems reinstalling windshield assembly. the center bracket for windshield has a type of ratchet for locking the window position. i have an f4 windshield

1. how does it release to move window up and down?

2. what is best position to start?

did the tape go all the way accross for the window to slide? i saw in a post some used strips. i am using velcro tape to replace.

·
Registered
5,591 Posts
I put a F4 w/s on my old 02 wing, and the F4 folks told me that I could not move it up/down any more..that it was now there w/o any chance to move it...
I'm not an expert on shields, but I now I could not move my shield after the F4.......... O'by the way I loved my F4... I have the stock shield on my 2010 now.........

Ronnie

·
Administrator
4,415 Posts
I believe an "f4" is a trade name. There are several sizes of a f4. All are adjustable EXCEPT the +4. ie. if it's an f4 +2, it's adjustable. Hope this helps. BB

·
Registered
7,370 Posts
almost got bike together, having proublems reinstalling windshield assembly. the center bracket for windshield has a type of ratchet for locking the window position. i have an f4 windshield

1. how does it release to move window up and down?

2. what is best position to start?

3. did the tape go all the way accross for the window to slide? i saw in a post some used strips. i am using velcro tape to replace.
1. Lift the sliding mechanism all the way to the top (hard). That releases the latch to allow the slide to return to the bottom. It will then ratchet upwards (four click positions as I recall). Then fully to the top to reset again. It will not go back down without going fully to the top first, and will not click into place without going fully down first.