GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,987 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, and can't believe all the great advise and information I've already received on this forum by just reading. You guys are great!!!
I just installed an XM Xpress R Satellite Radio system and have 2 questions. 1. With normal FM Stations, I usually set the volume level at around 20 with headsets. With the XM radio, in order to achieve the same level I have to increase the volume to 29. Has anyone else noticed this type of
problem? Would prefer to not run the volume at the max so is there a solution?
2. I seem to have some noise (alternator?) with the XM. I didn't notice it with an IPOD but its definitely there with the XM. Selecting the headlights to "highbeams" increases the noise 3 fold. What experience have you had with using the isolators that plug into the power circuit to eliminate this noise? Do they really work?
Thanks in advance....
Jim

·
Registered
846 Posts
Newbie here, and can't believe all the great advise and information I've already received on this forum by just reading. You guys are great!!!
I just installed an XM Xpress R Satellite Radio system and have 2 questions. 1. With normal FM Stations, I usually set the volume level at around 20 with headsets. With the XM radio, in order to achieve the same level I have to increase the volume to 29. Has anyone else noticed this type of
problem? Would prefer to not run the volume at the max so is there a solution?
2. I seem to have some noise (alternator?) with the XM. I didn't notice it with an IPOD but its definitely there with the XM. Selecting the headlights to "highbeams" increases the noise 3 fold. What experience have you had with using the isolators that plug into the power circuit to eliminate this noise? Do they really work?
Thanks in advance....
Jim
I recently installed the XM Express RC on my 08 bike.