GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, maybe someone can help Me out. I was riding in My friends new car and he had a xm radio which I loved because of all the selections. I would like to install this radio on My wing. Where does the power source come from, and do I have to buy an fm converter? Does anyone sell a mount for this radio?? Also can I use the cassette adaptor in the fairing pocket??As you can see I am not that good at hooking up electronics. Thanks in advance, Jim in N.C.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hey Oldcoot,
I have the Sirrius radio on my 1800. I put the unit in the trunk on top of the CB and ran power under the seat to the battery. I have the head for changing channels on top of my left cover and the antenna on the top of the trunk. The reception is great and I only have occasional dropouts in heavily wooded areas.
Walt

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
Jim - the XM (or Sirius) is a great addition to the Wing and depending upon the model of receiver you buy will greatly impact the way you add it to your bike and how you wire it. Personally, I like the Delphi Skyfi receiver as it is portable and I can easily switch it to my SUV, my garage or my office by just lifting the receiver portion from the cradle adapter and plugging it to another (although you do have to have other adaptors, but that's not necessarily bad either).