1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My street Pilot 2720 died :-(

I have four Choices:
1. New 220
Good Price (I am a poor little pastor of a small church so.....)

2. New or used 550
Proven Unit???

3. New or Used 660
I know nothing about this one.

4. Sent the 2720 back to Garmin to fix
Might get another year or two out of it.

What would you do and why??? (Advantages/Disadvantages)

No GPS wars please.... :eek:4:

Thanks!
RevJonG

·
Registered
544 Posts
I have a Z-660 that replaced my old 2610. It works fine. As with any device, personal preference may have a lot to do with your level of satisfaction.

·
Registered
2,012 Posts
Consider a non-Zumo model such as a Nuvi. More features, lots less cost. Discontinued models going for $100-$140 with bluetooth, MP3, larger screen, and ability to download custom routes. Trade offs: They are not rainproof. Consider the 765t or the 1390t w/5"screen. I just replaced my 2810 with a 765T and like it alot....

·
Registered
2,017 Posts
The big question

Do any of the NUVI models provide the ability to plan long and complex routes where I choose the roads rather than the GPS? I require the ability to plan routes on my home computer and then download them to the GPS unit. My ancient Garmin Quest does this and came with the necessary computer software. The Quest still works but the display is small and my near vision is getting worse every year. The maps are obsolete too. The Zumas will all do what I want but I'm hoping to find a cheaper alternative.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can advise.

Edit: Sorry if I hijacked the thread but I thought the question might be of interest to the original poster as well.

·
Registered
5,541 Posts
What would you do and why??? (Advantages/Disadvantages)

I'd ask myself what features I want and go from there...

For a Goldwing GPS I want the following features:

• Weatherproof
  • XM Radio/Weather/Traffic
  • Larger 4" to 5" screen
  • Motorcycle Friendly